Posted in Aging, Anchorage, Quilts, Sewing, Uncategorized

99 Wow

Today my friend turned 99 years old. She is semi-independent, has had to give up driving a car due to poor vision.  I salute her tenacity and her attitude.  She chooses to be as active as she can possibly be.  Cooks and cleans her small space. Still communicates with friends from the past.  Has a somewhat active social life. Keeps her mind active with puzzles and conversation.

Wow.

As I am rapidly approaching my 70th birthday, I am truly humbled.  I am looking forward to being sedentary again as soon as possible, wait strike that, I was looking forward to that and I do believe I now have to change my mind.

live this long

I think that taking better care of myself kind of happens.  I do eat pretty much healthy food and have taken a job that requires some measure of physicality.  I get out on my bicycle periodically and walk a lot.

It’s the engaging with people I sometimes have to really work hard on  If I have a quilt I am working on, it is easy for me to not speak to anyone for days and it doesn’t bother me. Now I have to push myself to be social or maybe I should become one of the many Alaskan bush people who don’t see other humans for months on end. Hey, I’m in Alaska, it could happen.

There’s got to be an easy way to accomplish this.

99 years

99 years 2

I like the sentiment of both of these, but this does it for me.

99 years 3

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

