Posted in Aging, Anchorage, Quilts, Travel, Uncategorized, Yes

Spring Cold

Maxims typically date back many years, but “feed a cold, starve a fever” may beat them all. This saying has been traced to a 1574 dictionary by John Withals, which noted that “fasting is a great remedy of fever.” The belief is that eating food may help the body generate warmth during a “cold” and that avoiding food may help it cool down when overheated.

But recent medical science says the old saw is wrong. It should be “feed a cold, feed a fever.”

I really like the new medical belief, eat everything in sight when you don’t feel well.  That’s what I did today.  I know when I have a cold I can’t taste anything, have no taste for anything, but I do force myself to eat a little each time I think of it, throughout the day.

spring cold2

So after wandering around like this all day, I started to feel a little better.  Between the food , the gallons of tea and juices I drank and a couple of naps  Thank goodness I did not have to go to work today.  I would have really been in a pickle.  On top of that it is the first day I have been in Anchorage where it has rained all day.

I am so glad that in my limited capacity to bring my full wardrobe with me, I have a few things to layer.  A down vest even in the house when you feel like crud is comforting and warm.  I also grabbed one of my favorite wool caps to pulldown over my ears.

Did I say that even though this is my little apartment in Alaska, it sure doesn’t feel like home when you are not well.  No heating pad in the closet, no package of Jello-o to make when nothing tastes good, no stack of quilts to pile around me as I curl up with a book.  Still it is my temporary home so let’s hope this is the worst of it.

 

2 thoughts on “Spring Cold

  1. The weather her is gorgeous also, days are 50’s and 60’s and nights are 40’s and 50’s. Constant breeze keeps you feeling refreshed while you are outside. Now how am I going to get the latest jewelry trends without your input…lol.

    Like

  2. Hope you’re feeling better. The weather here is beautiful – low 80’s with low humidity and a breeze. That’s quite nice for this time of year. We miss you! I have been saving money since you left, since I seldom go into Michael’s!

    Like

Leave a Reply

