Posted in 2017, Airplane, Food, Georgia, Rambling thoughts, Travel, Uncategorized, Yes

Ponce City Market, Atlanta, Georgia

I have been to visit the Atlanta area a number of times, the first time about 45 years ago.  When I  visited then, I came with a friend and neither one of us knew anyone here so we went to typical tourist places. Dinner at a recommended restaurant and shopping downtown. Now I have family and friends living in the area which allows me to come here more often.  So I have their input about unique or the current fun place to see. This was my first visit back in about a year and we had free time to explore so I set out for a new adventure.

This visit, I discovered a great new place.  The is a shopping area, not a shopping mall,  called Ponce City Market.  It is located in a converted  Sears, Roebuck building. The building originally opened in 1926 and re-opened in its new form in 2014. The day we visited it was jam-packed with people everywhere.

There are great shops and restaurants, tons of parking, a wonderful industrial vibe throughout and entertainment at various times. Throughout a nod to the original use of the building by Sears.

SAM_6799

The general experience in this place is much like Underground Atlanta was many years ago.  The day was wonderful in every aspect and I look forward to making this a regular stop on my visits here in the future. Once again a chance for good food and great shopping in a new atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

